I Render our Tuscan Kitchen…

1 Oct

The kitchen was my favorite part of the renovation even though it required a lot more planning and design.  It was awesome having a clean slate and building it back.  Everything that was lacking in the previous kitchen I wanted to remedy here, namely cabinet and counter space, even though I think you can never truly have enough.  Even now I have almost filled the new cabinets back up!  I love to cook and entertain, so the kitchen to me was very important.  I wanted it to be functional and I wanted it to be beautiful, because everyone always ends up in your kitchen right?  I wanted to have plenty of room to spread out so that several of us could be in the kitchen cooking on holidays, namely my sister, niece and me!  A large island gives plenty of work space and a prep sink was added by the range as a secondary work area.  I planned a five foot walkway between the island and the range and the island and the refrigerator wall.  Standard is three feet, but I didn’t want to be crowded or not be able to open the refrigerator door and dishwasher door at the same time.  We wanted the Old World Tuscan flare that is so warm so we chose the dark wood cabinets but contrasted those with the lighter granite color.  For the island we decided to do a laminate edge which has an extra thick border around the counter and gives it a dressier look since it’s really the focal point of the kitchen.  Copper sinks were in keeping with the Tuscan look as well as copper accent tiles in the backsplash.  The microwave, dishwasher and wine chiller are built into the island.  My preference was for a one piece range with double ovens.  When you’re trying to finish the turkey on Thanksgiving and still cook the dressing and sweet potato casserole two ovens will be great!  Also one can serve as a warming oven for parties.  I don’t like a lot of things out on the counter tops so during my design phase I planned for two appliance garages, one for the mixer and one for the coffee service.  I love my big Kitchen Aid mixer but hated heaving the 50 lb thing out of a cabinet when I was ready to use it, but I also don’t want it just out all the time.  With the garage it and all its’ attachments stay concealed and when I want to use it I only have to move it a few inches and I’m ready to mix.  Electrical outlets are in the back of each garage.  Same for the coffee maker.  That is used daily, of course, but when we’re through with our morning coffee, the pot, along with the grinder, cream and sugar containers are neatly stored away in the appliance garage.  There is no wasted space with this either because they would be out on the counter anyway!  So here we go, from yellowed white cabinetry, L-shaped counter setup, to demo and construction, to the final finished kitchen!

2 Responses to “I Render our Tuscan Kitchen…”

  1. Kim Williamson October 2, 2012 at 9:46 am #

    Magnificent! I love this kitchen, a home chef’s dream!

    • asoutherngirlsguideto October 2, 2012 at 2:58 pm #

      Thank you! And congratulations to both of you for winning the election! I am so excited about the next term.

Leave a Reply

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

